Through the generosity of various benefactors, the College can offer the following scholarships, bursaries and awards.

It is more blessed to give than to receive.

— Acts 20:35


Thomas Bourke Memorial Scholarship

Mr Thomas Bourke
Mr Thomas Bourke

Thomas Bourke was a significant contributor to the welfare of the College in its early years, with part of his estate left for the purpose of supporting students at the College.

The allocation of the scholarship is at the discretion of the Principal and is awarded to Year 7 students. 

Recipients of the Thomas Bourke Memorial Scholarship receive a deduction of their annual school fees each year they are enrolled at St Patrick's College*. 

*Terms and Conditions apply. If, in the judgement of the Principal, a student who has been awarded the scholarship fails to make satisfactory progress or is unsatisfactory in any other way, the scholarship may be temporarily or permanently withdrawn.

Martin-Lyall Scholarship

Mrs Gleeson-West
Mrs Gleeson-West

The Martin-Lyall Scholarship has arisen from the generosity of the late Mrs Rosemary Gleeson-West, who sadly passed away in 2016. Mrs Gleeson-West made a substantial donation to St Patrick’s College to establish a scholarship to assist students with payment of fees, in memory of her parents who studied, lived and worked in Tasmania.

Mrs Gleeson-West’s late father, Mr Athol Winton Martin, was born on the 25 March 1900 and died on 20 August 1978.  Her mother, Maida Kathleen Lyall was born on 30 March 1912 and died on 11 March 2001.  Athol was one of the original students admitted to St Patrick's College in 1919 while Maida was a Sacred Heart College alumni.

Annually, during Term 3, students in Year 10 and 11 are invited to apply by submitting an essay comprising two sections in accordance to the scholarship guidelines. After consideration of written applications, a shortlist of students are selected for an interview. Two students from both year groups are then awarded the scholarship, which is a contribution deducted from their annual fee at St Patrick’s College for one school year.


Year 10 Bursaries

Each year the Principal awards 20 bursaries to Year 10 students in Term 3. Bursaries are awarded at the discretion of the Principal following consultation with staff, and recognises and rewards students who live out the College mission and values with respect to academic, co-curricular and outreach opportunities.

The bursary is to the value of 50% discount of the student’s net tuition fees in their Year 11 and 12 schooling at St Patrick’s College*.

*Terms and Conditions apply. If, in the judgement of the Principal, a student who has been awarded a bursary fails to make satisfactory progress or is unsatisfactory in any other way, the bursary may be temporarily or permanently withdrawn.


Francine Allan Award

Francine Allan

The Francine Allan Award is in memory of the late Francine Gayle Allan. 

Francine gained her Higher School Certificate at St Patrick's College after amalgamation with Marian College, which she attended for her secondary education.

Francine's all round ability, enthusiasm and leadership was evident in her College representation in a number of fields including girl's cricket, swimming, netball, speech and drama and debating.

In 1985, Francine was invested as a prefect of the College in her final year. After graduating she went on to study Pharmacy at the University of Tasmania. Francine was nearing completion of her second year of studies when she tragically died in a motor vehicle accident.

Each year, Year 12 students vote for a female Year 12 student they feel is an all-rounder who contributes to others and the school community with humility and commitment. 

Garry Wainwright Award

Garry Wainwright

The Garry Wainwright Award is presented in memory of the late Garry Wainwright

Garry began his education at St Patrick's College as a Grade 3 student in 1966. He was well liked and respected throughout his school years, contributing greatly to many school activities.

Garry was a talented swimmer and well known in the sporting field throughout Tasmania. He was a member and trainer of College football teams and a member of the 1st VIII Rowing Crew.

On 19 January 1976, Garry died in a car accident.

Each year, the Year 12 cohort vote for a male Year 12 student they feel is an all-rounder who contributes to others and the school community with humility and commitment.

Michael Zeeman Award

Michael Zeeman

The Michael Zeeman Award commemorates Old Collegian Michael Zeeman, who tragically died during a medical procedure a short time after completing Year 10

Michael loved life, valued fairness and appreciated that effort and taking part were more important than being first.  Michael was an all-rounder, had a great sense of humour and enjoyed the company of others.

The Michael Zeeman Award recognises a Year 10 student of exceptional commitment to all aspects of College life.

Tahlia Ketchell Participation Award

Tahlia Ketchell

Tahlia Ketchell Participation Award is an award for a Year 7 student who has, in simple and joyful ways, contributed positively to the College, through generous and genuine participation.

Tahlia Ketchell was a Year 7 student in 2015 and had only been a member of St Patrick’s College for eight months when she tragically lost her battle with a viral infection. In the eight months at the College Tahlia brought her tremendous gifts of exuberance, compassion and positivity.

Special Awards

Additional awards are presented to students at the end of the year in acknowledgement of leadership, service and contribution to the St Patrick's College community.  The College is very grateful to those benefactors who have contributed to these awards in the past, present and future.